Unity Brisbane

Reflections of Truth

Rev Rhonda Murray

About Us

Our History:

Unity Reflections of Truth began in May 2002, with friends meeting for Spiritual growth in homes. With a great deal of dedication from organiser (later Secretary) Shirley McGregor, also Margaret and Noel Spann, LUT Bev Croft, and others, our group grew quickly and we moved to larger venues. With the addition of a website and later a Facebook page, we now also call ourselves Unity Brisbane.

We began meeting at Bar Jai Centre at 178 Alexandra Road, Clayfield, Queensland, Australia, in October 2008.  Sunday Services and workshops are held on the ground floor, while classes and regular groups meet upstairs.

Unity Reflections of Truth has been blessed to be supported by three Unity Ministers, Revs Midge Berkman, Grace Merrick, and Rhonda Murray.  Grace recently returned to Brisbane to live after some years in Sydney, and is active and involved in the ministry, with focus on her national role as Director of Education for the Unity National School for Australia and New Zealand.

Rev. Rhonda Murray, Our Minister

RhondaMurray  In 2014 we celebrated the 20th anniversary of Rev Rhonda Murray’s ordination at Unity Village, Missouri, USA (June 1994). It was also the 7-year anniversary of Rhonda’s return after 4 years as Minister at Unity of Melbourne. Rhonda originally joined Unity in Bundaberg in 1979, and became a Licensed Unity Teacher in 1989.

Rhonda has played a leading role in the establishment of the Association of Unity Leaders in Australia and New Zealand, now titled AULM – Association of Unity Leaders and Ministries. Rhonda is currently President, as well as a committee member for the A/NZ Unity National School.

Rhonda is also a trustee on the Unity Pacific Rim Region Board of Trustees, of which Australia and New Zealand are members.

Our Board of Management

This dedicated group of members meet regularly to take care of the business of ministry.

They are currently:

  • President: Laurie McHugh
  • Treasurer and Financial whizz: Lorraine McHugh
  • Secretary:  Joyce Boyle
  • Other Committee members: Heather-Anne Briker-Bell, Claire Welborn, Allan Hooper, Chantal Pages, Julian Harvey.

unity brisbane

 Our Volunteers

There would be no Unity Services without our dedicated band of volunteers, who come early to set up the room, manage the kitchen, do reception, I.T. Projector, library, etc. They also help with the pack-up, clear-up, clean-up afterwards. There would be no Unity activities without those who also put in long hours of work at home, especially Lorraine, Joyce and our library staff.